Series Elite - Exclusive Racing Series and lifestyle Club

Lewis Dominant in Barcelona – Spanish Grand Prix 2018

A faultless drive at the Spanish Grand Prix saw Lewis Hamilton dominate proceedings at the wheel of his Mercedes. Teammate Valtteri Bottas following him home in second place, making it a perfect afternoon for the silver arrows at Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya.

The Mercedes duo locked out the front row of the grid during qualifying, Lewis edging out his stable-mate, while Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen took over row two at the wheel of their Ferrari’s. Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo claimed fifth and sixth for Red Bull, while the Haas of Kevin Magnussen sat seventh, Fernando Alonso [McLaren] eighth, Carlos Sainz Jnr [Renault] and Romain Grosjean [Haas] completed the top ten.

At the start Hamilton made a perfect start, while the Ferrari of Vettel jumped Bottas going in to the first corner, but there was drama further down the field when the Haas of Romain Grosjean took out the Renault of Nico Hulkenberg and the Torro Rosso of Pierre Gasley. Grosjean running wide round the outside of turn three, running back across the track and collecting Hulkenberg and Gasly as he did, in a ball of tyre smoke. And to add insult to injury, the Barcelona stewards handed Grosjean a three-place grid penalty for the next Grand Prix, in Monaco.

At the restart Hamilton streaked away, followed by Vettel, Bottas and Raikkonen. Alonso making a beautiful overtake around the outside of turn three, grabbing tenth spot from the Force India of Estaban Ocon.

Vettel was the first of the leaders to pit, Bottas following not long after, the pair holding their positions on track. Heartache for Raikonen as the Ferrari lost power, the Finn’s team recommending the car be pulled over and retired.

Lewis Hamilton, BarcelonaA virtual safety car for a ‘hazard’ on track, and it was Alonso at it again at the restart, jumping Charles Leclerc, the former F1 World Champion catching the Sauber napping and grabbing eighth place in to turn one.

Hamilton meanwhile cruising to his second win on the bounce, with Bottas now up to second, the Mercedes only having pitted once while rival Vettel, who had a two-stop strategy, finished in fourth. Max Verstappen claiming the final podium spot.

Ricciardo took fifth place, while Magnussen claimed sixth, Carlos Sainz Jnr seventh, with Alonso eighth, the Force India of Sergio Perez ninth, while Leclerc came home tenth.

Race winner Lewis Hamilton commented; “There’s lots of different wins you can have but this is definitely a great feeling, win-wise. There’s been ones where I’ve been too far ahead and more relaxed, this one I was pushing the whole way, I was trying to perfect my craft, trying to improve and not make mistakes. I was leaning on the car the whole way, trying to learn. It was like practice, gaining knowledge of the balance of what I need and what the car requires. It was definitely an exciting one, and I was very happy”.

  1. Lewis Hamilton, GBR, Mercedes
  2. Valterri Bottas, FIN, Mercedes
  3. Max Verstappen, NED, Red Bull
  4. Sebastian Vettel, GER, Ferrari
  5. Daniel Ricciardo, AUS, Red Bull
  6. Kevin Magnussen, DEN, Haas
  7. Carlos Sainz Jnr, ESP, Renault
  8. Fernando Alonso, ESP, McLaren
  9. Sergio Perez, MEX, Force India
  10. Charles Leclerc, MON, Sauber
  11. Lance Stroll, CAN, Williams
  12. Marcus Ericsson, SWE, Sauber
  13. Brendon Hartley, NZL, Torro Rosso
  14. Sergey Sirotkin, RUS, Williams
  15. DNF Stoffel Vandororne, BEL, McLaren
  16. DNF Esteban Ocon, FRA, Force India
  17. DNF Kimi Raikkonen, FIN, Ferrari
  18. DNF Nico Hulkenberg, GER, Renault
  19. DNF Pierre Gasly, FRA, Torro Rosso
  20. Romain Grosjean, FRA, Haas
Share This Post On

Submit a Comment