F1 2013 – Paddy Lowe to join Mercedes from June

Formula One News » F1 2013 – Paddy Lowe to join Mercedes from June

Former McLaren technical director Paddy Lowe is set to begin his role at Mercedes earlier than expected when he joins the team from June. Lowe was expected to join Mercedes in 2014 but an agreement between McLaren and Mercedes has been reached meaning he will start working with the team from June 3.

Lowe’s role within Mercedes will be as Technical Executive Director and he will work closely with team principal Ross Brawn.

Lowe said “I am excited to become part of a highly talented and capable technical organisation.

“The team has already produced probably the fastest car of the 2013 season while the technical challenges of the new regulations for 2014 will give us the opportunity to maximise the synergies available to a works manufacturer.

“That is a challenge I am relishing. I have worked closely with Mercedes-Benz for almost 20 years and deeply admire the company’s phenomenal commitment to Formula 1. I look forward to much success together in the years ahead.”

Speaking of his arrival Ross Brawn said “I am delighted to welcome Paddy to the team and to begin working together.

“He has an excellent record of success in the sport and would be an asset to any of our rivals in the pitlane.

“It is no secret that every team is facing a significant balancing act between this year and next.

“But it is perhaps less obvious that we will also see major changes for the 2015 and 2016 seasons, as development progresses with the new generation of car design and power unit.

“To deliver in these circumstances, a successful team needs strength in depth. Paddy’s arrival will further strengthen our organisation and puts us in a strong position for the future.”

It is widely believed that Paddy Lowe will eventually succeed Ross Brawn as the Mercedes team principal.

Post a Comment - Logged in as . Log out?

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *




    Ayrton Senna Limited Edition Print

    This is the first time the image has been released - an opportunity not to be missed.

    Click for details
  • 2015 F1 Drivers’ Championship

    1Lewis Hamilton169
    2Nico Rosberg159
    3Sebastian Vettel120
    4Kimi Raikkonen72
    5Valtteri Bottas67
    6Felipe Massa62
    7Daniel Ricciardo36
    8Daniil Kvyat19
  • 2015 F1 Constructors’ Championship

    4Red Bull55
    5Force India31