F1 2013 – Martin Whitmarsh: If there’s someone better, get them!

Formula One News » F1 2013 – Martin Whitmarsh: If there’s someone better, get them!

McLaren boss Martin Whitmarsh has accepted the fact he could be replaced by shareholders at any minute and insists that’s just life and that he would “then realise that life moves on”

Speaking to the telegraph Whitmarsh said “”I’ve always had a fairly philosophical outlook, I take the view: ‘I’m in the job – if there is someone better, get them.’

“I’ll go and do something else. I haven’t needed to have this position to be who I am or to achieve what I have wanted.”
“I keep myself balanced. That makes you, if not cavalier, at least bolder.

“I’m in a career where the shareholders can decide tomorrow that they want to bring in someone better, that they don’t like me any more, and I’m out.

“This is a private company and the shareholders can get rid of me this afternoon if they wish. I might be shocked for a few hours, and then realise that life moves on.”

“Formula One is often a very chastening experience. You go from hero to zero very quickly,”

“Since 1966 we have won 186 grands prix, more than any other team over that period, and I have been around for more than 100. That’s what we expect of ourselves.

“If people give us aggravation, then rest assured we give ourselves worse. I don’t like turning up at a race without the genuine belief that we can win. That’s why I go motor racing.

“So this is not a comfortable or sustainable position. But it increases the determination to sort it out.”

Post a Comment - Logged in as . Log out?

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *




    Ayrton Senna Limited Edition Print

    This is the first time the image has been released - an opportunity not to be missed.

    Click for details
  • Drivers’ Championship

    1Lewis Hamilton384
    2Nico Rosberg317
    3Daniel Ricciardo238
    4Valtteri Bottas186
    5Sebastian Vettel167
    6Fernando Alonso161
    7Felipe Massa134
    8Jenson Button126
    9Nico Hulkenberg96
    10Sergio Perez59
  • Constructors’ Championship

    2Red Bull405
    6Force India155