F1 Pre-season Testing Button leads the way at Jerez

Formula One News » F1 Pre-season Testing Button leads the way at Jerez

Jenson Button led the way at Jerez today covering 37 laps and setting a fastest time of 1:18.861s on the hard tyres.

Button had a late surge in the closing minutes and topped early morning pace sitter Romain Grosjean with a 1:18.861stime, edging second placed Mark Webber by +0.848s

Jenson Button caused the first red flag of 2013 when his new McLaren suffered from a fuel pump issue after just 3 laps.

Nico rosberg also suffered from torubles as the new Mercedes W04 took to the track, Mercedes ended the day early after a fault with the cars electrics.

“After identifying the cause of the problem, we will not be running again today whilst parts are modified ready for tomorrow,” said the team.

“The part which requires modification is the wiring loom where the electrical fault originated this morning.”

During the second half of the session Max Chilton went off track in his new Marussia VR02 damaging the rear suspension and bringing out the red flags, the Marussia has been 4-5 seconds off the pace all day.

“We’ve identified an issue with the rear suspension which requires further inspection and so we won’t take part in any more running for today,” said the team.
“After such a positive start to our test it is disappointing, but this is what testing is for and, most importantly, Max is just fine.”

Sauber spent the afternoon running aero tests on their new C32, with Nico Hulkneberg repeatedly slowing and speeding up along the start/finish line.

Day 2 of F1 2013 pre-season testing gets underway again tomorrow at Jerez with Lewis Hamilton taking control of the Mercedes W04 for his first test with the Mercedes-Benz team.

Post a Comment - Logged in as . Log out?

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *




    Ayrton Senna Limited Edition Print

    This is the first time the image has been released - an opportunity not to be missed.

    Click for details
  • 2015 F1 Drivers’ Championship

    1Lewis Hamilton169
    2Nico Rosberg159
    3Sebastian Vettel120
    4Kimi Raikkonen72
    5Valtteri Bottas67
    6Felipe Massa62
    7Daniel Ricciardo36
    8Daniil Kvyat19
  • 2015 F1 Constructors’ Championship

    4Red Bull55
    5Force India31