United States Grand Prix: Qualifying – Vettel on pole [UPDATED]

Formula One News » United States Grand Prix: Qualifying – Vettel on pole [UPDATED]

Sebastian Vettel takes pole position for the United States Grand Prix as expected, but Lewis Hamilton makes him work for it and is only 0.109 seconds slower; Mark Webber comes in third with Romain Grosjean fourth, although he will drop five places due to a gearbox change; Kimi Raikkonen sets the fifth fastest time ahead of Michael Schumacher, Felipe Massa, Nico Hulkenberg and Fernando Alonso – all set to gain a place due to Grosjean’s penalty; Bruno Senna and Jenson Button go out in Q2 – the latter slowed by a throttle pedal problem; Daniel Ricciardo is eliminated in Q1…

STOP PRESS: Felipe Massa has been handed a five-place grid penalty after Ferrari deliberately broke the seal on his gearbox to aid team-mate and championship hopeful, Fernando Alonso. Massa will now start eleventh, with Alonso promoted to seventh and crucially the clean side of the grid.

United States Grand Prix: Qualifying times

1.Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault1m 35.657s
2.Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes1m 35.766s
3.Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault1m 36.174s
4.Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1m 36.587s*
5.Kimi RaikkonenLotus-Renault1m 36.708s
6.Michael SchumacherMercedes-Mercedes1m 36.794s
7.Felipe MassaFerrari-Ferrari1m 36.937s**
8.Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes1m 37.141s
9.Fernando AlonsoFerrari-Ferrari1m 37.300s
10.Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Renault1m 37.842s
11.Bruno SennaWilliams-Renault1m 37.604s
12.Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1m 37.616s
13.Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1m 37.665s
14.Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso-Ferrari1m 37.879s
15.Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari1m 38.206s
16.Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari1m 38.437s
17.Nico RosbergMercedes-Mercedes1m 38.501s
18.Daniel RicciardoToro Rosso-Ferrari1m 39.114s
19.Timo GlockMarussia-Cosworth1m 40.056s
20.Charles PicMarussia-Cosworth1m 40.664s
21.Vitaly PetrovCaterham-Renault1m 40.809s
22.Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault1m 41.166s
23.Pedro de la RosaHRT-Cosworth1m 42.011s
24.Narain KarthikeyanHRT-Cosworth1m 42.740s

all times unofficial

* Five-place grid penalty (gearbox change)
** Five-place grid penalty

Q1 107 percent time: 1m 43.317s

Post a Comment - Logged in as . Log out?

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *




    Ayrton Senna Limited Edition Print

    This is the first time the image has been released - an opportunity not to be missed.

    Click for details
  • 2015 F1 Drivers’ Championship

    1Lewis Hamilton169
    2Nico Rosberg159
    3Sebastian Vettel120
    4Kimi Raikkonen72
    5Valtteri Bottas67
    6Felipe Massa62
    7Daniel Ricciardo36
    8Daniil Kvyat19
  • 2015 F1 Constructors’ Championship

    4Red Bull55
    5Force India31