Japanese Grand Prix: Qualifying – Vettel on pole

Formula One News » Japanese Grand Prix: Qualifying – Vettel on pole

Sebastian Vettel puts it on pole for the Japanese Grand Prix for the fourth year in succession; Mark Webber makes it a Red Bull front-row lock out with second, 0.251 seconds off his team-mate; Jenson Button takes third, but will drop five-places due to a gearbox change; Kamui Kobayashi comes in fourth ahead of Romain Grosjean and Sergio Perez; Kimi Raikkonen spins at Spoon on his flying lap at the end of Q3 and brings out the yellow flags ruining the second runs and leaving Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton down in seventh and ninth; Felipe Massa and both Mercedes drivers go out in Q2; Bruno Senna is eliminated in Q1 after being blocked by Jean-Eric Vergne…

Japanese Grand Prix: Qualifying times

1.Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault1m 30.839s#
2.Mark WebberRed Bull-Renault1m 31.090s
3.Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes1m 31.290s*
4.Kamui KobayashiSauber-Ferrari1m 31.700s
5.Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault1m 31.898s
6.Sergio PerezSauber-Ferrari1m 32.022s
7.Fernando AlonsoFerrari-Ferrari1m 32.114s
8.Kimi RaikkonenLotus-Renault1m 32.208s
9.Lewis HamiltonMcLaren-Mercedes1m 32.327s
10.Nico HulkenbergForce India-MercedesNo time*
11.Felipe MassaFerrari-Ferrari1m 32.293s
12.Paul di RestaForce India-Mercedes1m 32.327s
13.Michael SchumacherMercedes-Mercedes1m 32.469s**
14.Pastor MaldonadoWilliams-Cosworth1m 32.512s
15.Nico RosbergMercedes-Mercedes1m 32.625s
16.Daniel RicciardoToro Rosso-Ferrari1m 32.954s
17.Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso-Ferrari1m 33.368s***
18.Bruno SennaWilliams-Renault1m 33.405s
19.Heikki KovalainenCaterham-Renault1m 34.657s
20.Timo GlockMarussia-Cosworth1m 35.213s
21.Pedro de la RosaHRT-Cosworth1m 35.385s
22.Charles PicMarussia-Cosworth1m 35.429s
23.Vitaly PetrovCaterham-Renault1m 35.432s
24.Narain KarthikeyanHRT-Cosworth1m 36.734s

all times unofficial

# Sebastian Vettel was reprimanded for impeding Fernando Alonso in Q3, but wasn’t given any sort of grid penalty;
* Jenson Button and Nico Hulkenberg both have five-place grid penalties for a gearbox change;
** Michael Schumacher has a ten-place grid penalty (for colliding with Jean-Eric Vergne in Singapore);
*** Jean-Eric Vergne was handed a three-place grid penalty for blocking Bruno Senna in Q1.

Q1 107 percent time: 1m 38.471s

Post a Comment - Logged in as . Log out?

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *




    Ayrton Senna Limited Edition Print

    This is the first time the image has been released - an opportunity not to be missed.

    Click for details
  • 2015 F1 Drivers’ Championship

    1Lewis Hamilton169
    2Nico Rosberg159
    3Sebastian Vettel120
    4Kimi Raikkonen72
    5Valtteri Bottas67
    6Felipe Massa62
    7Daniel Ricciardo36
    8Daniil Kvyat19
  • 2015 F1 Constructors’ Championship

    4Red Bull55
    5Force India31